The Intergovernmental Authority on Development’s (IGAD) Monitoring and Verification Mechanism (MVM) was established to monitor the Cessation of Hostilities Agreement (CoHA) signed by the Parties in January 2014. In August 2015, the MVM transitioned to become the Ceasefire and Transitional Security Arrangements Monitoring Mechanism (CTSAMM) following the signing of the Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in South Sudan (ARCSS). The ARCSS stipulated that the CTSAMM be responsible for monitoring and verifying the implementation of the Permanent Ceasefire and Transitional Security Arrangements (PCTSA) as laid out in Chapter II of the Agreement and the PCTSA workshops that took place thereafter.

The convening of the High Level Revitalization Forum on the ARCSS in December 2017 led to the signing of a new Agreement on the Cessation of Hostilities (ACoH). With the signing of the Revitalized ARCSS in Addis Ababa in September 2018, CTSAMM transitioned to become the Ceasefire and Transitional Security Arrangements Monitoring and Verification Mechanism (CTSAMVM). The R-ARCSS also provided for inclusion of the signatory Parties in the monitoring of the PCTSA. The major provisions of the 2017 agreement remain the same as those in previous agreements. However the new agreement allowed for Other Armed Groups to be considered as Parties to the ceasefire framework and mandated CTSAMVM monitor the implementation of the ACoH.

The CTSAMVM is chaired by Lieutenant General Asrat Denero Amad of Ethiopia, a representative of IGAD. The CTSAMVM Board comprises representatives from the signatory Parties, the Former Detainees, Other Political Parties, the Women’s Bloc, South Sudan Women’s Coalition, Civil Society Organizations, the Youth, Eminent Personalities, IGAD, the African Union, China, the Troika (the United States, the United Kingdom and Norway), the United Nations Mission in South Sudan, the European Union and the IGAD Partners Forum.

The CTSAMVM reports to the IGAD Council of Ministers and the Reconstituted Joint Monitoring and Evaluation Commission (RJMEC). The RJMEC has the responsibility of overseeing the implementation of the peace agreement as a whole and is the parent body, not only to the CTSAMVM, but also the National Constitution Amendment Committee (NCAC), the Joint Military Ceasefire Commission (JMCC), the Economic and Financial Management Authority (EFMA), the Strategic Defense and Security Review (SDSR), the National Pre-Transitional Committee (NPTC) and the Board of Special Reconstruction Fund (BSRF). In turn, the RJMEC reports to IGAD, the African Union and the UN Security Council among others